Remembering When, September 2010

IMG_2271 IMG_2272

144 Instagrams, September 2010, 30×30″, giclee’ print on enhanced matte paper

My wife and I joke that “if you didn’t Instagram it, It didn’t happen”.  This printed work catalogs about  a years worth of Instagrams.  Not everthing was used, but in this piece you can make out my love of type, movie screen captures, pottery, and common icons/architecture/fixtures that go unnoticed daily.  Instagram captures images in a square format.  I wonder why they decided that.  Maybe it is nod to the instamatic…the Polaroid.  Either way, its difficult to capture things visually within this format as we have become accustomed to a wider format and even wide-screen.  Squares remind me of grids and grids remind me of architecture.  My first introduction to drawing was in a Drafting class so many years ago in high school.  I still remember how I “got it”.  So much so that I won the award for that year.  It wouldn’t be until 10 years later that I would pursue an art education in college.  I get the square, but it’s tough to be square all the time.

Leave a Reply

