Remembering When: November, 2013

Four Walls Poster: November 2013

Simple and to the point.  I could have skewed the type in program (either Illustrator or Photoshop), but the romantic notion of “hands-on” tempted my heart.  Four Walls is a concept for an exhibition whereby 4 student artists are chosen to create a work of art on one of our four gallery walls.  Lakeview gallery, Tarrant County College Northwest.

Though simple, this is probably the poster I am most proud of.  Yes, it is up there.  I think because it is an elegant solution to what could be a complex problem if you were to use software only.  As you can see, there were a number of configurations for the foam-core walls.  I chose to a configuration that honored the same placement in the gallery.  After importing the photo in computer, I had to sell the type as transparent.  So, the foam-core became like a maquette of sorts–guiding type I would create in program (Illustrator).

I was loads of fun to do and I am so pleased with the outcome.

Leave a Reply

