Day 4: Abiquiu, Sanctuary of Chimayo, and The Ghost Ranch

Greetings Family and Friends,

El Santuario de Chimayo: Got a late start due to my condition, but made up for it with a trip to Abiquiu and the Sanctuary of Chimayo (The Shrine of Our Lord of Esquipulas).  It was here that Don Bernardo de la Encarnacion Abeyta explained,  “I am not a historian, but I was present when the relevent events occurred.”  In 1810, he and his brothers were praying, when Don Bernardo saw a light at the bottom of a valley.  The light was coming from deep inside the earth.  The light led him and his brothers to a spot where they found a carving of a crucifix after digging through the soil.  Healings have been attributed to the soil in which was found the crucifix and like many visitors, I too collected some soil for my family. 

As with other visits on this trip, I cannot escape the fact that my Dad would have visited this place.  He, like his father would have loved it.  I remember when I was younger, visiting a shrine like this one in South Texas on the border of Mexico.  I can’t remember what the shrine was called, but I do remember the journey for a couple of reasons.  One, it was the first time I saw my grandfather cry and two, it was a memorable critique given by my father concerning a greasy serving of tamales. 

Click here to see Video!  Santuary of Chimayo entrance and Stations of the Cross.

The Ghost Ranch:  The trip to the Ghost Ranch from Abiquiu was spectacular.  Huge mountains and mesas of deep red, orange and ocher.  Georgia O’keeffe sought inspiration in this area and later would live out in this area with Alfred Stieglitz.  It was closed by the time we arrived, but the thunderstorm and landscape were well worth the time.  I didn’t see any ghosts.

Some pictures of the Day:

Stayed hydrated all day.  The longest time spent without drinking something was probably 1.5 hours.  All told, I drank about 60 oz of water, 40 oz of gatorade, and 20 oz of cranberry juice.  I felt better today.  The girls made sure I was staying healthy.

Menu of the Day:

Black Forest Ham Sandwiches

Crackers

Cherries

Peanut Butter Cookies

Mixed Green Salad with Grape Tomatoes, Feta, Balsamic, and Olive oil

Spinach, Mushroom, Basil Pesto, Feta, Mozzarela and Chicken Pizza (made by me, yea!)

Leave a Reply

